Langebaan - Fish Hoek Lifesaving Club’s up-and-coming Tom Schilperoort claimed his first ever surfski series win in impressive style by beating current world surfski champion Dawid Mocke, and Graeme Solomon in the Driftwoods Lagoon Dash 15km downwind race at Langebaan on Saturday.

23 year old Tom “Tommygun” Schilperoort was elated as he outsprinted his clubmate and reigning world-series champion, Dawid Mocke for line honours in the season’s second race of this summer’s ten-race series.

“These windless conditions suited me perfectly and I knew that if I could hang-on to Dawid on the homeward leg, after the 7kms (halfway) turning buoy just off Mykonos, I would have a good chance of out-sprinting the ‘old boys’, Dawid and Graeme Solomon, at the end”, Schilperoort said after the prizegiving held at the sponsors water’s edge Driftwoods Restaurant situated on the lagoon.

Mocke and Solomon were exhausted after the clearly demanding race and were full of praise for their young adversary's first ever surfski series victory.

The Maties duo of Ernest van Riet and Heinrich Schloms had to work hard for their win in the double ski race to hold off the pugnacious pair of Bruce Neil and Theo van Wyk.

In the ladies category, Nikki Mocke notched her second successive victory with UCT’s promising Jackie Barnes taking second spot and Fish Hoek’s Kim Brugmann third.,

Arguably the days most cut-throat racing happened in the Mixed Doubles division where series bosses Billy and Tracey Harker delivered the hurt to Simon Oosthuisen and Tamika Haw. "Proper domination!" pronounced a smug Harker after claiming the victory.

Dominique Notten posted an excellent ninth place overall and easily won the junior title from  Craig Flanagan and Kenny Rice and schoolgirl Kirsten Flanagan was the First junior lady home.

The race provided  challenging conditions  over the triangular course, turning off an anchored ship off Langebaan before racing into windless swell that required significant effort from the paddlers to take advantage of on the leg to a turning buoy close to Mykonos before turning back to the finish.


1 Tom Schilperoort 1:03:47
2 Dawid Mocke 1:03:48
3 Graeme Solomon 1:04:41
4 Gary Cromie 1:06:33
5 Simon van Gyssen 1:07:06
6 Peter Cole 1:08:30
7 Ian Trautman 1:08:33
8 Justin Maddock 1:10:16
9 Dominique Notten 1:10:17
10 Ashley Carstens 1:10:27

Elite Ladies
1 Nikki Mocke 1:11:36
2 Jackie Barnes 1:15:05
3 Kim Brugman 1:20:21

Mens Doubleski
1 Heinrich Schloms & Ernest van Riet 1:02:23
2 Bruce Neil & Theo van Wyk 1:02:30
3 Craig Maltby & Dimitri Panagiotides 1:07:24

Ladies Doubleski
1 Cathryn Treasure & Megan Kelly 1:34:11

Mixed Doubles
1 Billy & Tracey Harker 1:12:35
2 Simon Osstenhuizen & Tamika Haw 1:14:36

1 Dominique Notten 1:10:17
2 Craig Flanagan 1:13;45
3 Kenny Rice 1:14:00

Junior Lady
1 Kirstin Flanagan (F) 1:39:35