McGregor and Kime claim Day One of the Windhoek Berg River Canoe Marathon.

Hank McGregor leads Lance King and Alistair Glass into the 1st Portage just after the start in Paarl

Zonquasdrift – Defending champions Hank McGregor and Robyn Kime stamped their authority on the 2010 Windhoek berg River Canoe marathon at the end of the 56km first stage raced in cold rainy conditions.

McGregor led home a three boat bunch into the finish at Zonquasdrift, while Kime shrugged off her lack of training to wrench a seventeen minute lead in the women’s race.

From the start in Paarl, the men's race quickly evolved into a four horse show, including last years champ Hank McGregor, Pierre-Andre Rabie, Lance King and Heinrich Schloms.

Pierre-Andre Rabie, however, lost his position in the front bunch after taking a blocked right hand line in the river, ending up stuck and having to get out of his boat.

In the end sprint at Zonquasdrift, however, it was McGregor who won the end sprint by three seconds, claiming the first stage win and in doing so, retaining the Berg leader’s yellow jersey. Cape challenger, Lance King, was just behind him in second place, with Heinrich Schloms in third.

“But I am happy with how today went, and I’m hoping to stay where I am for the next three days” he added.

In the ladies race Robyn Kime has opened up a sixteen minute gap on Donna Winter by the end of Day 1 at Zonquasdrift.

Kime was very happy with her race today saying; “My goal for tomorrow is to paddle as hard and fast as possible, and improve my 28th position overall from last year”.

McGregor claimed the first Bridge hot spot at Dal Josafat, and Lance King took the second at Hermon Bridge.

The first day of the Windhoek Berg Marathon saw the weather turn a full 360 degrees, to weather more normal of the Berg- cold and wet. It was easy to spot the out of town paddlers bundle up in all their warm kit at the start line, while the local hardened Cape paddlers didn’t even flinch.

The river is flowing at a healthy 25 cumecs, making the heavier paddlers who remember the pre-Dam low Berg’s very happy. For more information go to

1.Hank McGregor 4:21.15
2.Lance King 4:21. 18
3.Heinrich Schloms 4:21.22
4.Pierre-Andre Rabie 4:26.50
5.Edgar Boehm Jnr 4:32.42
6.Marc Holtzhausen 4:35.33
7.Alasdair Glass 4:36.59
8.Greg van Heerden 4:39.21
9.Chris De Waal 4: 39.22
10.Louw van Riet 4:42.44

1.Robyn Kime 5:01.48
2.Donna Winter 5:18.24
3.Robyn Henderson 5:20.43