Cape Town - Dawid and wife Nikki Mockè who were uniquely crowned the ISPA World 2010 Surfski Champions after the world-series Shamaal Challenge this week in Dubai, ruled supreme in winning the 10km Peter Creese Memorial Lighthouse Surfski Challenge in most emphatic style.

Tom 2nd &Ashley Carstens 9th Finish the Peter Creese Lighthouse race.

In the mens race a battle supreme raged with Dawid Mocke(2nd Dubai) and Tom Schilperoort (7th Dubai) swapping the lead several times on the way back from Roman Rock lighthouse, with Dawid eventually coming out tops.

A record field of some 200 surfski paddlers lined up for a mass-start for the ninth and last race of this year’s summer-series, in honour of the late Peter Creese, Fish Hoek’s legendary former Springbok Surf Lifesaving captain, who died prematurely, aged 30, of a brain-tumour in 1989.

Dom Notten (1st Junior) 8th Overall & Mixed Doubles winners Billy & Tracy Harker

Race organizer Peter Cole, who is also race-director of the 50km Cape Point Surfski Challenge diarised for Saturday 18th December, said that today's 10km sprint held in blusterly 15kmph south-Easterly Ocean conditions, was a good technical paddling test for exponents of surfski racing and that he was delighted at the number of race-entrants taking part in the various long-course (10km) and beginners’ short-course (4km) single and double ski race-categories.


Jayden Alford Loots (10th) and Jean Austin

Overall double-ski winners in 48:45 minutes today were the scratch duo of Simon van Gyssen and Ryan Anderson, edging an impressive father-and-son combination of Shaun and Craig Butler into 2nd place in a time of 49:52 minutes. The tussle for honours in the mixed double-ski category where the Hart and Harker’ husbands and wives crews have been lunging at each others’ ski-rudders throughout the summer-series, ended in a hard-earned, mere 50-second winning margin, for Billy and Tracy Harker over Rob and Lis Hart who surged home in second spot in 52:10 minutes.

Peter Cole (5th) and Sean Rice (4th)

The Discovery Sunglass Hut surfski series spotlight shifts to the FENN Cape Point Challenge on 18 December.

More information can be found at

Race Results
Elite Men:
1. Dawid Mockè 47:20
2. Tom Schilperoot 47:35
3. Graeme Solomon 48:45
4. Sean Rice 48:45
5. Peter Cole 49:31
6. Alisdair Glass 50:04
7. Ian Trautman 50:13
8. Dominic Notten 50:25.
9. Ashley Carstens 50:65
10. Jaydon Alford-Loots

Elite Ladies:
1. Nikki Mockè 51:57
2. Michèle Eray 52:57
3. Bianca Beavitt 55:35